Home » The Girl in the Torch by Robert Sharenow
The Girl in the Torch Robert Sharenow

The Girl in the Torch

Robert Sharenow

Published
ISBN : 9780062227959
Hardcover
304 pages
Enter the sum

 About the Book 

In the first middle grade novel from award-winning author Robert Sharenow, a young immigrant must do everything she can—including hide inside the Statue of Liberty—in order to make it to America and find a true home for herself.At the dawn of theMoreIn the first middle grade novel from award-winning author Robert Sharenow, a young immigrant must do everything she can—including hide inside the Statue of Liberty—in order to make it to America and find a true home for herself.At the dawn of the twentieth century, thousands of immigrants are arriving in the promised land of New York City. Twelve-year-old Sarah has always dreamed of America, a land of freedom and possibility. In her small village she stares at a postcard of the Statue of Liberty and imagines the Lady beckoning to her. When Sarah and her mother finally journey across the Atlantic, though, tragedy strikes—and Sarah finds herself being sent back before she even sets foot in the country.Yet just as Sarah is ushered onto the boat that will send her away from the land of her dreams, she makes a life-or-death decision. She daringly jumps off the back of the boat and swims as hard as she can toward the Lady’s island and a new life.Her leap of faith leads her to an unbelievable hiding place: the Statue of Liberty itself. Now Sarah must find a way to Manhattan while avoiding the statue’s night watchman and scavenging enough food to survive. When a surprising ally helps bring her to the city, Sarah finds herself facing new dangers and a life on her own. Will she ever find a true home in America?From acclaimed author Robert Sharenow comes this heartfelt novel of resilience, hope, and discovering a family where you least expect it, perfect for fans of Inside Out & Back Again and Number the Stars.